Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

Ancient buildings always give pride and glory for the country. However, these built-ups consume lot of space, as in many countries we find hard to build new developments because of restricted area mainly in metropolitan cities. History plays an important role so values and literature can be preserved in form of a book or on website but the space occupied by the buildings should be used for better progress.

Everything that exists in this world has a particular life-span, it is same in regard with the old buildings. Due to the environmental conditions and also the usage of these structures, they tend to get ruined. Therefore, it is a good decision to demolish and have new construction for next generation For example there are many palaces in India which have been turned in hotels. In this way we are having a proper use of the building. However, these sites gives the information about history, so models can be put up in museums which can serve the purpose of knowledge.

Generally speaking, I believe, history is necessary but it should create an avenue for the progress. We learn through our mistakes, therefore, while creating new concepts we should take history in account. One good illustration of this is, Indus valley civilisation people during those times gave more value to gold so to collect it they built a dam in Mohenjadaro's valleys. After few years they faced floods in which whole city was drowned completely. Having known this, we should avoid repeating mistakes in our lives. This can lead to better future and better progress of the community

To conclude, history has a vital role to share its facts on which we should gain the mastery over it and lead our country to excel by using the space as well as the knowledge.