Many parents believe that when their children read books for entertainment, they are wasting their time, and that they should read only serious, educational books. What is your opinion about this?

Children are believed to waste time in reading entertaining books but only books for educational purposes. In my opinion, I do not agree with this since entertaining books can benefit children in as many ways as academic books.

First and foremost, the advantage for children from reading non-academic and amusing books is to boost their creativity and imagination which are surely seen as key factors to success during their school time, and especially their career. On top of that, entertaining books like fairy tales, folk tales, comic books also help kids to form their dreams at a very early age and this absolutely beneficial to them since they would have much more time to follow their dreams.

Entertaining books are also a great way for offspring to learn traditional moral values. For instance, In Pinocchio, kids would learn that lying is wrong and it can result in bad things. In Snow White and the seven dwarfs, they would know that good-hearted people would overcome difficulties and win over wicked ones in the end. In fact, these non-academic books are lively miniature pictures that are more or less based on real-life situations with a pure and simple view. Thus, in my opinion, funny books are considered as a safe and suitable place for children to explore life, to shape their behaviours, and to develop important life skills. Besides, reading entertaining books can help kids to relax from serious academic books and keep them enjoying reading as a hobby.

In short, both educational books and entertaining books have a great support for children. While educational ones play as a source of basic knowledge and information for kids, entertaining books help them to develop their life skills and enhance their creativity.