In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin.

Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effect they have in terms of health on society ?

Whitening products are not unusual anymore, moreover, it is becoming a product which abundant of people very familiar with and being influenced by others to try it. Therefore, these products, which are mostly originally produced in either Korea or China, receive a great amount of profit in the recent times. However, although it is one of the top products, it also has several effect in terms of health on society.

There are some reasons why people decided to make such products and advertise it to others. People are born with different skin tone, some accept their skin colour, but some do not. Besides, there are also some people who grow up with uneven skin tone in different parts of their body. This problem give so much difficulty towards people, especially women. They tend to feel insecure and shy if those certain parts are being exposed to public. Therefore, to overcome it, they willing to try the whitening product. Many people believe that, using this sort of product, can lighten your skin within days and also can boost someone’s feeling, they can feel more confident and can be accepted in society as they are not peculiar anymore.

However, some people, especially scientists, found that in the ingredients, which are contained inside the product, can be harmful to people’s skin. Those ingredients are chemical based, not all chemical elements are safe for skin. For people who do not really have enough knowledge on safe ingredients, they might just purchase any products that can whiten their skin, in fact, they can get skin cancer because of that, or less severe effects, such as rash, redness, or feel stingy on skin.

Overall, if one want to try the product, they must understand the ingredients that are contained inside and purchase it in trusted shop to prevent any harmful effects.