In many parts of the world, women study science and technology but do not work in these fields. What measures can be taken to encourage women to work in science and technology?

A challenge of working in the field of one’s education is real for women all over the world, and this issue is particularly evident in the science and technology industry. This essay will first suggest that this is a male dominated sector with a very intense working schedule, and then argue that promoting females for leadership roles and allowing for more flexible office routine are the most viable solutions.

The foremost problems women face are an employee gender profile in scientific and technological companies, further complicated by long office hours. Being historically dominated by men, such firms have developed a gender bias, resulting in a very low number of offers made to female graduates looking for internships. Moreover, current employees have adopted a high performing style of work, completely ignoring needs of those with family commitments. A prime example lies with the companies specialised in medical technology in the UK, 90% of which do not offer working from home option at all.

Possible solutions to these problems would be prioritising female-led promotions, alongside providing people with an opportunity of remote working. By nominating ladies for a head of department roles, organisations will lower an entrance barrier for the same gender adults. Furthermore, intellectually intensive professions normally require only an internet connection to operate, hence letting individuals work from a different location should be relatively easy to implement, giving a great deal of flexibility to mothers and wives, trying to balance out professional and personal responsibilities. For instance, in Spain, enterprises that offer three months of working from any geographical location per year, report a 90% retention of female staff.

To conclude, since the majority of roles in science or technology related departments are occupied by the opposite sex, which dictates the mantra of overworking, female adults are facing difficulties in employing their academical skills. Therefore, to address these issues, more women managers should be hired and flexibility in working arrangements should become a new normal.