Many people believe that it is important to always tell the truth. In your opinion, is it ever acceptable to tell a lie?

Explain your answer giving reasons and specific examples.

Most people reckon that it is essential to speak the truth most of the time if not all the time. It is asked if telling a lie is an acceptable act and I would say that I think that there will be circumstances in which lying is inevitable. However, validation of reasons must be also done.

Denying a person the truth about something or someone is a daunting task for many, however people must always choose to act for the greater good. It is then acceptable to lie if you are intending to protect something or someone. In the case of family dispute, some parents opt to withhold the truth of an ongoing divorce processor their children because of the serious effects it might cause them. An act like such will protect the well-being of the children and prevent behavioral changes that will eventually have long-term consequences.

Another scenario wherein keeping the truth is allowed is for the sake of peace among people. Though it might not be advisable to mislead or deceive, some national issues particularly political issues are kept within the political groups until such time that the public is ready to take in the reality. As an illustration, political leaders suppose that it will only aggravate chaos if multi-faceted problems are delivered to people all at once.

In conclusion, I concede with the notion that it is acceptable to tell a lie but only in certain circumstances. Uplifting the truth and practicing it religiously is of paramount importance. Moreover, the pros and cons must be intricately weighed and reasons must be validated.