Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, there are a lot of researches are done around the world. No doubt, the engine of development of each country is its researches. There is an argument that who should be responsible to manage and execute this engine, governments or private companies. I believe that it should be a cooperation between governments and firms in this subject but at final execution and management should be done by governments.

When governments handle a research we can gain a lot of benefits. Firstly, governments can find people needs based on country short or long-term plans. For example, they may have 5-year or 20-year plans for developing a part of economic and they should guide researches on the right way to reach goals. Secondly, some researches need a huge investment and no firms may handle it but governments can assign some part of their country resources to it. For example, new researches on human genes need about 200 billion dollars in each year and no company can handle this money but governments can do. Finally, some researches do not have acceptable income at the end but they may useful for our society. In most cases, private companies do not attract to this type of researches so government should be responsible for them.

To sum up, I believe that governments should executor and observer of scientific researches although they should use private companies’ power and guide them.