Many people believe that social networking sites( Such as facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

To what extent do you agree?

The purpose of socialising, that is to meet new people has been defeated with the introduction of social networking sites. Although, it allows us to meet new people, it has a negative impact not only individuals but also on society. There are several negative factors of Social networking sites which has impacted the way they think and also to some extent the way they live.

In earlier times socialising was meeting new people, sharing ideas and knowing each other by meeting them in person. Because of these meetings personal connection was established, which tends to stay longer and is definitely stronger than any connects that we make on social networking sites. Also, many fake accounts are created to bully teenagers in their schools and colleges. Children communicating with these strangers by only trusting their profile pictures is very harmful and is the real cause for cyber bullying. I strongly feel that strong bonding can only be established when we meet a person in physical, which can also prevent the individual from getting bullied.

Many fake news gets spread in the social media which instigates a few sections of society, because of which communal riots take place. Also, during the time of elections many political parties pay a hefty amount to digital marking team just to target a specific set of audience in the social media by posting the news, which usually are fake, through which political parties can target votes. Society should always dig dipper in the sources before reacting in any way.

In conclusion, I do believe that there is vast impact of social networking sites such as Facebook on Individuals as well as on society. It is very important to make them realise, to what extent can they let these sites affect their lives.