Some people think that money is one of the most essential factors in promoting happiness.

Do you think people can be happy without much money?

What other factors contribute towards happiness?

There is a very popular saying, Money can’t buy you happiness. However, there are people contradicting this view who feel being rich and being happy are directly related. Though money may be important, it is not the only means through which one can stay happy.

Material happiness is often temporary, it is from within that one should feel cherished and lively. This feeling often arises once person feels satisfied in life. Hunger to run towards money will make us run forever in our lives. It is the peace of mind which we should be targeting in order to find actual happiness. There are many instances where a director of a big corporate entity always stays frustrated or angry throughout the day whereas, a normal employee in that same organisation may be happy by being satisfied with whatever he has. This may be due to hunger for earning more, which has pressurised the director so much that he forgets the true purpose of earning money.

Family and friends are also important in our lives, without whom we won’t be able to enjoy. The love and affection that the family gives, motivates us to stay focussed and tackle any problems which may come in our way. Also the support which a true friend can give will be more valuable than any bank balance. There are many instances of rich individuals who even though had lots of money but still end up being depressed because they feel lonely without any true friends and family members. Because of this state of mind many thinks suicide is the only solution and end their lives.

In conclusion, I do feel that the money may be important in promoting happiness however, it is not the only factor. One should be satisfied in life with whatever he has and should never forget that there are other things in life as well like family and friends with whom one can be happy even without too much money.