Many people say that universities should only offer to young students with the highest marks, others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well. Discuss both views and give your opinions

In today’s world, it cannot be denied that education plays an important role in our society. These days, there is a public debate about which types of people are suitable to receive high junior education. Many people share the view that the university should only be provided to students with flying colours. Meanwhile, others are of the view that people of all ages should get admitted to colleges even if they did not do well in their study. Both of the views have their own merits which require careful consideration. In this essay, an attempt will be made to investigate both of the views mentioned.

To begin with, some people think that only students with good results should be admitted to colleges. The most frequent factor contributing to the view is that only students with high academic results can live up to the demand of subjects in universities. To put it in another way, the curriculum of colleges requires students to be both competent at acquiring extensive knowledge and diligent in doing research for assignments. Therefore, just students with outstanding school performances can meet these requirements. One example to demonstrate this view is that students studying Engineering are required to have tactical skills, analytical skills, critical thinking and problem-solving abilities. Moreover, for a student, a background in science is crucial for a future in Engineering and this begins by selecting the science stream during the 11-12th standard. As this example reveals, only students with high remarks can adapt to absorb the knowledge in colleges.

On the other hand, others argue that every kind of person is able to approach university. One explanation to support this view is that tertiary education is necessary for normal people to get knowledge related to discovering or application. Furthermore, countries with better educated citizens are more equipped to deal with new challenges and technological advances. This is shown by the following example. According to the George Herald, as Africa’s biggest economy, it is in South Africa’s best interest to encourage its students to pursue tertiary education if it is to keep this position and to compete with other emerging market giants like Brazil. As a result, all sorts of people should be able to get knowledge of universities that can boost economic development.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that only students with remarkable results can master tertiary education because of the high amount of knowledge and requirement. However, others should also get admitted to university due to the critical knowledge. Finally, I am of the view that everyone should be accepted to an approach to university, which is attributed to the positive impact on economic development.