Many people think that every individual is responsible for their own healthy lifestyle, others believe that governments should take care of it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While people used to enjoy a healthier lifestyle in the past, the recent decade have seen a dramatic increase in the rate of diverse ailments people are struggling with. Opinions diverge greatly on whether the government or each individual should assume responsibility to foster the healthy lifestyle. However, I personally believe that both of them share equal importance.

On one hand, no one is of power to enforce an individual to pursue a healthy lifestyle. It seems a matter of personal interest and although needing constant attention, every person in the society should be worried about the dire consequences of not following a healthy diet. Moreover, no rule from any authority can be enforcing citizens to attend a gym or a swimming pool. Each individual, therefore, would be more suitable than anyone else to take the responsibility of going after a healthy lifestyle.

On the other hand governments seem to hold a vital position in providing a healthy lifestyle for the community. Considering these day’s hectic lifestyle, people are more likely to be exposed to deteriorations in their mental and physical health regarding stressful work environment and traffic jam. The governments, though, should try to alleviate the burden which each individual bears to support a living and provide people a more sedentary lifestyle. Undoubtedly, these are measures that can not be taken by anyone else, but the government.

By way of conclusion, it seems to me that the government and the people alike should assume responsibility to enhance the average standard of living, which leads to a healthier lifestyle.