Many people think modern communication technology is having negative effects on social relationship. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that the use of advanced technology inculcates better social values among people. On the flip side, people argue that current technology has, in fact, negatively affected man's social conduct. This essay will look into both of these views and then will conclude the essay with personal opinion.

This is true that over the last century or so technology has improved with leaps and bounds, and has brought a very positive change in the social behavior as well as the social activities of the humans. Extraordinary means of transport have made it possible to travel far and wide across the globe, and this of course has promoted social interaction. For instance, people now travel long distances to attend the wedding ceremonies and other social meet-ups courtesy fast moving planes or bullet trains.

On the other hand, there seems truth in the fact that some of the technological advancements have had adverse effect on the social norms of individuals as well as communities. Advanced telecommunication technology has 'locked' people in a bubble. This is true especially of a large number of teenagers and youngsters, who have lost their social connection because they are too much into gaming and browsing online. For example, in my family, most youngsters love spending their time playing video games or browsing the Internet.

In my opinion, despite the fact that current technology does sometimes keep us away from each other, it can be used to advance and promote better social demeanor. Individuals need to understand and adapt to the complex nature of social influences of technology.