Many people think watching TV is fully bad for children. Others think that TV is beneficial for their development of them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that watching TV has a negative impact on children, while other people believe that the positive development of children has mainly come from watching TV. This essay discusses both sides of this argument, and then I will give my own perspective.

On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that the disadvantages of watching TV considerably outweigh its benefits. The main reason for believing this is that spending much time with their eyes glued to the television screen has harmful effects on children’s health. To illustrate, many kids nowadays suffer from various health problems including eyes strain, obesity, and exhaustion due to excessive watching of TV and a severe lack of outdoor activities or exercise. Another reason is that many television programs or movies currently contain some violent connotations or even sexual imagines, which are considered inappropriate for young children’s viewing and more likely to put children at a higher risk of violent behavior causing to ruin their future.

However, there are also advantages of children’s development from watching a lot of TVs. Firstly, young children would easily widen their knowledge and horizons by watching educational TV programs. For example, there are many different kinds of TV programs such as Math Lesson or BBC Learning that deliver information to children outside the school. As well as, watching TV is a useful way to stimulate young children’s creativity in life. Art channels and shows involving music composing or drawing promote the mind and encourage children to answer their inner calling.

In conclusion, I believe that both sides of the argument have their merits. On balance, however, it seems that watching TV brings more benefits for young children’s development. This is because if the children spend time watching TV, they will be more likely to enrich their knowledge and develop their creative skills.