Many students are taught to push themselves and try hard to be better than their classmates rather than work together for everyone s benefits Do the disadvantages of training students to be competitive outweigh the advantages

Nowadays, many students tend to compete with their fellow friends rather than sharing their ideas when the examination commences. In this essay, Personally, I think that the consequences of having this mindset might have some advantages, but its demerits are more significant.

Most parents believe that making our child be more competitive in their study would make their child feels more pressured to do well and in turn, their academic results will be improved. This thinking is true to some extent as these children will become more concentrated and become serious in their studies and develop some ambitions in themselves to have a better career in the future because they have a very clear goal in their minds.

On the other hand, this mindset is like a double-edged sword which causes some harmful effects to the student rather than being beneficial to them. First, these children will have some serious problems in their social skills as they do not want to talk to their friends and help each other discussing their problems. In some cases, they become too egotistic, thinking they are way better than other students and become more careless in their learning and not wanted to get better marks. This could have a tremendous impact when they grow up and work in places that require high interaction with people.

Secondly, in some worst-case scenarios,intense study can cause these children to become more stressful which could lead to depression and have a tendency to attempt suicide if they do not get up to their desired marks.

In conclusion, I personally think that treating these children this way will lead to depression and social anxiety rather than improving them.