Men and women are different in terms of their characteristics and abilities. For this reason, some jobs are better done by men and others by women.

Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Some people think that men and women are generally different and for that reason they should be treated unlikely. Although there has been many movements regarding gender equality at workplace, I personally believe that there are some vacancies that are way much more appropriate for a specific gender.

To begin with, some see man as physically stronger and emotionally stable than woman. Meanwhile, woman is perceived to be more soft-hearted and caring. Because of that nature, it is scarce to see woman occupied in a construction field and, similarly, we rarely see man work as a playgroup teacher or baby sitter.

I think culture plays a significant role in defining which occupation are meant for male or female. Asian countries such as United Arab Emirates and Indonesia, for instance, position man over woman in social hierarchy. Perhaps, that is why most leaders in both nations are men. This phenomenon, however, is nowhere to find in western countries. We can easily find woman in leadership role, for example Margaret Thatcher who served as the prime minister of the United Kingdom for around 2 decades.

Admittedly, in recent years, some careers that was used to be associated with female are now commonly filled by male figure, such as chef, make up artist, and fashion designer. Likewise, woman work in technology industry is now more prevalent than it was in the earlier time.

All in all, despite the fact that many occupation which was dominated by certain gender can now be filled by both male and female, it seems to me that some particular jobs remain more proper for one gender over another.