In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is trendy that everyone nowadays is allowed to do many things, ranging from shopping, talking to even working with only the Internet connection, which hinders people to have face-to-face activities. I believe that this tendency brings about both merits and drawbacks.

To begin with, there are some compelling benefits of using the Internet to shop, work and contact. Firstly, since people do not need to transport to different locations in bad weather conditions or traffic congestion, it is much more convenient and hyper-flexible to purchase many things such as clothes, foods with a click. This also means that people could go shopping whenever and wherever they want, even products from foreign nations. Secondly, working at home via the Internet also creates a good opportunity for parents to take care of their offspring and families. This can be explained by parents are able to supervise their children’ activities, therefore, they could prevent their children from overusing smartphones, or playing computer games.

However, shopping and working at home also bring about some permanent drawbacks. In terms of shopping, people take more risks when they shop online. Take buying clothes as an example, instead of touching the material of a dress to know the quality of it, shopping online only allows them to visualize pictures which customers could not evaluate the authentic value of a product. Furthermore, people easily suffer from many psychological illnesses such as autism, depression when they could not communicate with others. For instance, many youngsters tend not to believe the success or real affection because of exposing too much negative information on social media platforms.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that there are many benefits of using the Internet on daily tasks, I believe that the disadvantages of this trend are inevitable.