Task 2: Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversy of whether or not boosting the price of sweet products could make a reduction in consuming these goods. While I think that many health issues would be caused by this tendency, I disagree that high-priced sugary products could solve the desire of eating this kind of food.

To begin with, nowadays due to overconsuming sweets or sugary goods, children or even adults are prone to a range of severe diseases such as obesity, heart attack, or high blood pressure. This prevents them for having a healthy lifestyle; instead of that, sedentary lifestyle could be built by their consumption habit. In terms of the elderly, these diseases could result in the lower average longevity while the young suffering from obesity could also be affected by terrible comments from surrounding people. For example, a friend of mine underwent mental illnesses, particularly depression and anxious disorder when she got body-shaming from her peers.

On the other hand, I would argue that to reduce the consumption of sugary food, uplifting the cost of these products would be inappropriate. The initial point is that while the commercial breaks of sweet food still popularize everywhere, it would be tough to control the appetite of consumers. This could be seen when children still require and ask constantly their parents to buy Coca Cola for them otherwise they will not have dinner. Furthermore, nowadays, the living standard of ordinary people have increased tremendously because of the development and the higher income among households in our society. As a result, higher price of products no longer becomes a major problem to citizens. This not only cannot mitigate problematic impacts of sugary food, but also emphasize the importance of these kinds of food in daily life.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that sweet food and drink would bring about a big problem to people’s health. However, I believe that the method of making these products expensive is not a good solution.