More and more people think there is no need for printed paper newspapers.

It is true that many people believe that there is no longer any role for printed newspapers in the modern world of high-speed communication. While there are strong arguments to support this view, I would argue that there is still a continuing need for newspapers today.

The advantages of news which is available through the internet, TV or radio cannot be denied. Firstly, news from all around the world can be updated by the minute, often accompanied by live video or – in the case of radio – audio recordings. Thus,those who follow news such as political events, stock market movements or those who are simply keen on sport have all come to expect instant communication. Secondly, only the most remote corners of the world now have no access to radio or TV transmissions, and the internet is casting its web to reach an ever-wider audience. The spread of alternative options has therefore reduced the dependence on printed newspapers as the sole or main source of information.

Despite such advantages of news communicated by other, faster means, I consider that printed news is still important in today’s world. One reason is that not everyone wants or needs to live their life at a fast pace. The elderly in particular often enjoy the leisurely routine of reading the newspaper over breakfast or while sitting in their living room in the mornings. Another consideration is that a printed newspaper can simply be picked up and put down at will. For example, I often read a newspaper on the train or bus to work and then I usually leave the paper on the seat for another passenger to read if they wish.

In conclusion, although they have declined in popularity, printed newspapers are still a necessary part of communicating the news.