More cars and traffic on the road. This causes traffic jams and excessive pollution. People suggest that one way to solve this issue is to increase the price of fuel.

As the economies improve and life standards increase, our roads see more cars and traffic. This causes traffic jams and excessive pollution. Some people have suggested that one way to solve this issue is to increase the price of fuel. In this essay I will discuss why I agree with this and what are some other solutions that might be helpful.

Part of the reason why we are seeing a surge in vehicle ownership is low petrol prices, so hiking up the prices might do us some good. First benefit is that it will force people to look for alternative transportation. Since combustion engines will no longer be economically viable, this will lead to people purchasing electric vehicles that are subsidized by the government. People might also start using public transport, as trials in Europe has shown. The second benefit would be that commercial travel industry will be forced to rethink their business model. Since profits matter, the busses and coach companies may start looking into cheaper and cleaner energy sources for their vehicles.

Although making the fossil fuel more expensive is a good option, it’s not the only solution. Some other steps could also be taken such as making the clean energy cheaper and making it more efficient. Environmental friendly energy sources could be made cheaper by providing subsidies, as is done by US and UK. By doing so, these countries have seen a decline in the traditional cars and an increase in public transport usage. Secondly, we need to make cleaner energy as efficient as petrol. If it takes people the same time to charge their car battery as it does to fill up a petrol tank, they will have less qualms about choosing electric cars. Both of these option will hopefully make our roads a little less congested and improve our air quality.

In conclusion, although rising prices of fuel may seem like a simple measure, I think it can have a significant positive impact. Other than that, making sure that clean energy is cheap and efficient will also help curb the problems of traffic and pollution.