Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies.

People have been studying how to work more effectively since the invention of the first tools. Overwhelming number of specialness requires unique and individual attainments, nevertheless, many students study the same basic science disciplines. This essay will discuss the main benefits and the drawback of learning academic subjects and provide relevant samples.

On the one hand, the disadvantages of this phenomenon are the restriction of mind and the lack of the practical skills. Schools do not possess the opportunities to serve wide thinking for all pupils with this material. For example, the survey, conducted by Moscow School number 345, showed that 57% of children with excellent marks cannot demonstrate equal amount of knowledge in 85% non-school themes. I am convinced that after graduating school leavers often are not certain about the future due to the loss of practice. For instance, my pale Tommy chose the university in the last available month, because he did not imagine what he should to do without any professional tries in the past. Thus, such kind of studying as school does not develop learners’ breath of thinking and does not orientate them in professional term with useful savvy.

On the other hand, the main advantages are considered to be the supply of versatile options, and less expensive schools compared with non-academic ones. Children frequently do not know what they will do in future, and various studies deliver welfare start for all directions. As an example, the whole life a friend of my parents’, Pavel, wanted to be the dentist, but then easily became translator with lore that he learnt at school. The government owns the majority studying institutions in Russia, they always need investments, and many schools with diverse directions will require more special and costly equipment. For instance, statistics, collected by Russian Higher School of Economics university shows that unique academies with unusual specialty demand 30% more money than others. Hence, schools help with changing the occupation, and such standardized disciplines save the taxpayers’ money.

To conclude, I am sure that schools do not improve the latitude of the mind and usable skills. Nevertheless, they arrange horizontal mobility for all pupils and reduce spending of the state budget.