Most countries want to improve standard of living through economic development, however, others think social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

The issue of whether economic growth is able to ameliorate the quality of life or threatens social values has triggered intense debate. In my opinion, it seems to me that the possible benefits of economic development pale in comparison with the potential dangers.

To take the development of the economy at face value, there are two main associated benefits that we can reap. First of all, economic growth opens up ample job opportunities, especially for the young generations. This will be proven by looking at Ho Chi Minh City, the emergence of a vast variety of start-up companies, due to the financial support from municipal budgets, has eased the competitiveness of job market in recent years. Secondly, economic prosperity may have plenty of positive impacts on the education system. With the wealthy economy, the government is able to pay more proper regard to the advancement of educational services, such as supplying leading-edge devices for teaching purposes or building schools in rural areas. Therefore, there is a possible connection between economic development and the improvement of living standard.

On the other hand, it is necessary to take the drawbacks into account. Owing to the acceleration of economic growth, it may carry a certain degree of risk to the environment. To begin with, a massive rise in the number of industrial factories can result in multiple types of pollution, from noise pollution to water contamination to polluted air. For instance, without regular inspections from authorities, factories may dump their chemical waste directly into the sea, which poses a huge threat to marine life. On top of that, in pursuit of the wealthy nation, there is an ever-increasing demand for new technological breakthroughs, and thereby a less focus on national achievements, events which shape a nation. Thus, it can be concluded that the need for rapid economic development has a number of counter-productive effects on society.

In conclusion, it is my personal belief that the aftermath of economic growth is more significant than the advantage.