Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development, however, others think the social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Economic progress for raising the living standard is always a debatable topic because a stream of people think that it would be bad for society as social moral values will deplete. But in my opinion, economic development for a nation is a far better choice than thinking about values. The following passages will give arguments to prove my viewpoints.

Firstly, nobody can deny the fact that when a country’s economic progress is escalating, that will bring many salutary impacts on all the segments of society. The primary benefit would be numerous employment opportunities and with the help of these one citizen can resolve various distress situation he was facing in his life. Which means people can devote more time for the betterment of society instead of fighting and adopting illegal ways to get financial gain.

In addition to the above, financial progress can be done with the help of foreign direct investment. International companies will bring technology and boost the country’s economy by the inflow of capital. In a developing nation like India, for example, coca-cola wants to invest 5 lakh billion dollars by 2020 as it is an emerging market with potential consumers. Moreover, this investment will bring fortune and more jobs for the unemployed youth. So, it will be a boon for society.

In conclusion, I reckon that economic development is not bad for any society or nation and could not be the reason of degradation of societal norms whereas it is one’s cultural root system which inculcates the basic morals and ethics into the people, not the ways through which one nation is doing progress.