Most medical doctors want to work in cities where they will make a lot of money. Yet in many rural areas there are not enough doctors. What are the reasons for this problem? How can it be solved?

It is true that most newly graduated physicians prefer working in the urban area than using their talent in poorer places since big cities could offer them much more opportunities to practice their skills and make more money. This leads to the consequence that rural areas are lacking of people specialize in medical fields. This problem could be solve by changing the policies in both recruiting processes of hospitals and enrollment requirements in medical schools.

It could not be denied that working in a big city has many advantages. Firtly, urban area has the highest number of medical facilities, from primary care centers such as pharmacies or emergency departments to big and specialized hospitals. This offer a variety of choices and a higher chance of finding a job for young doctors who have just graduated from school. Furthermore, these centers often have the most innovative technologies and medicines and are capable of treating the most severe diseases when other healthcare facilities in poorer places have already given up. This could provide a better chance for physician to practice theirs skills, update the newest protocols and could easily pursue higher education.

While many doctors choose to stay in the big cities, rural areas are lacking of skilled healthcare giver. To solve this problem, firsly, local goverment should have policies to attract young students to work in local healthcare facilities by offering them high salary or financial aid for buying houses or cars. Another way to approach this problem is changing the enrollment requirements in medical university by lowing the standards for students in rural areas only if they sign the contract that makes them come back and serve their hometown after graduation.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that many doctors choose to work in the urban area for better conditions and opportunities while local hospitals do not have enough qualified physicians. Local government and medical schools could take a step in by changing their policies in recuitment to solve this problem.