Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that many people nowadays have ignored the significance of our traditions, culture, and rituals, whether there is a celebration or an event, they just want to have a fun time. In my perspective, I completely disagree with the statement that traditions have been forgotten for some fun time.

Traditions and culture are those essential fabrics of society that hold them together. The real significance behind all the rituals and cultures is to get together with all your neighbors and relatives and to have faith in humanity. For instance, I have witnessed that whenever some festival or any traditional ceremonies come to celebrate, they are celebrated with all the traditions followed till this date. Society always remembers what is handed down to them from their ancestors. Moreover, the traditions and cultures can be different, varies from religion to religion. But neither a single religion is forgotten nor their respective cultures. Infact, in our modern world, people even travel to other countries to get themselves involved in their cultural celebrations, this is what they intentionally do for fun.

Furthermore, this argument can be a result of activities of the younger generation, as a child clearly does not understand these rituals and traditions. Whether it is a traditional event or a particular festival, for them having fun is what only matters. But as soon as they grow up, the rich heritage of folklore is passed on to them by their ancestors to carry it further ahead. For instance, Diwali is one of the biggest festival of our country, it is often regarded as the festival of light, for grown-ups following all the rituals and traditions are must, but at the same time kids never follow that and only seeks mischiefs and lighting up of firecrackers. All the adults of the families recite to their gods and perform all the rituals that are performed for thousands of years.

To reiterate, as per my perspective, I am against the statement that the significance of traditional or religious cultures is ignored just for the fun time. Instead, nowadays people enjoy these rituals and accept them across the world. Our society can never forget the respective cultures that they have been taught by their ancestors as it is something they have faith in.