Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that all the educational institutes must admit equal proportionate of both the genders in every class. Nowadays, there is not any profession or field left which is yet to be explored by any particular gender. In our contemporary era, most people are recognised for their skills in a particular field, in spite of their gender. According to my opinion, the idea of maintaining equality for genders in the universities' admission can be fair as well as unfair.

On the one hand, more the diversity the better the field becomes. It is often witnessed that if a male/female is admitted into some field that has already been dominated by the opposite gender, the minority gender's efficiency does get affected. For instance, the women working in an eminent field like mechanical engineering or the men working as makeup artists might feel inferior because of the dominance already created by the other gender. Eventually, this also leads to less availability of opportunities to the minority gender in that particular field. So both the genders must be equally treated in almost every discipline that is taught in the universities.

On the other hand, providing an equal number of seats to both genders can be unfair to numerous hardworking students as well. For instance, a student who has been aspiring to get admission in any particular university and studies all day and night long, but gets rejected at the end just on the basis of the femininity or the masculinity that student possesses might sound as complete demoralisation. It is completely something that that student does not have any control over.

Taking everything into the consideration, I can only partially agree with the idea of providing an equal number of seats or admissions to both genders in the universities. Albeit the diversity is beneficial in every way but at the expense of acceptance for someone who was deserving for any particular admission in any educational institute might not be fairer.