Most people in the world speak at least one foreign language. Specialists therefore have suggested that pupils should be taught foreign language from elementary classes instead of starting in high schools. This essay will explain why I believe the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

It can be argued that the danger of introducing too many subjects, including foreign language, to tender minds is that it can confuse them. This is because their brains might not be able to accommodate too much at this stage. For instance, toddlers who live in environments where more than one language is spoken, start talking later than their mates who do not. This however cannot be generalized. Infact, it is easier for younger children to learn anything, especially languages, because their minds are still impressionable.

On the other hand, teaching foreign language early to youngsters has several advantages.A major one is improved mental capacity. As opposed to confusion that could result from processing a lot at a time, their brains will surprisingly be challenged to function more; thereby making them smarter. Evidently, bilingual pupils perform better than their counterparts in their school tasks.

In addition, it is easier for them to socialize. Learning other people's tongue exposes them to their culture as well. As a result, they can relate freely with other people. In my own experience, it took me over a year to make a single friend when I schooled away from my homeland because of language barrier.

In conclusion, children who are taught other people's language too eari are at risk of confusion. However, my opinion is that they would rather have improved brain functions and also be able to make friends easier.