Science could help people live up to 100 or 200 years. Would it be a good or bad development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

average life expectancy is reducing by day. However, it is believed that application of science knowledge, such as DNA modification, could prolong lives. I am of the opinion that living longer will be dangerous; except good health is ensured.

To start with, increasing human existence to two centuries has lots of benefits. Firstly, people can have enough time to achieve their aims and goals. As it is now, most people feel that life is too short, so if they have the opportunities of more years alive, they will be able to fulfill their dreams. For instance, one could have up to ten different doctorate degrees as they wish, if they live long enough. In addition, having more time will ensure people can enjoy their life achievements. it is not uncommon for workers to die immediately after their retirement, which means that enjoying their benefits for s not possible. this will not be an issue if they have over 100 years to live.

Conversely, doubling life expectancy could also be a negative development. because of the challenges of life, some people, who have had really difficult circumstances, will want it all to end at an average time. Evidently, economic resession has raised suicide rates in Nigeria. this means that living for more decades will only extend their suffering. also, with old age comes several health problems, which include hypertension and diabetes. so extending lives will increase risks of such diseases.

Concluding, although science could help add more years to people's lives in order to have more time to meet up with their plans, and enjoy what what they have acquired; I believe it will be a dangerous trend because it can mean more suffering for people with bad situations, as well as increase risks for illnesses associated with old age.