Science could help people live up to 100 or 200 years. Would it be a good or bad development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Technology and science have developed to an extent that people’s longevity has increased profoundly. It might be in the future we can live one or even two centuries. It would be great development for technology but in my opinion, it is not good development as it will lead to overpopulation and therefore cause a lot of trouble to the environment.

On one hand, tripling our average years of life gives people time to increase knowledge and ability to create science. In other words, the new generations brain has become in time more developed, so there is a possibility to rise more geniuses for the centuries than ever before. Scientists who could bring technology in the whole new level. For example, in long perspective there would be several working robots, airplanes without pilots and flying cars. Instead of mobile phones people read each other mind and communicate without the words.

On the other hand, if people would live so long  the globe will be overcrowded evoking natural disasters. Population is increasing rapidly 83 million people annually and living longer means also more children. Unfortunately, too many people will unwillingly overproduce products which brings along lots of rubbish, exhaust gases and therefore reduces the pure air. In fact, several natural disasters will occur like tsunamis and earthquakes. For example, global warming is already happening and to help it, all the people need to co-operate.

In conclusion, living couple of centuries has plus and minus sides, the good thing is that technology would turn another page making our lives easier, however, longevity would face us with overpopulation and dangerous disasters.