Most of the world’s problems are caused by overpopulation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Disease, environmental pollution, poverty, and war are long-standing problems faced by human beings. All of them are more or less related to overpopulation.

Overpopulation in cities has posed stresses on people's health. Traffic congestion due to too many vehicles on the road degrades the air quality and threatens the health of city dwellers. Lack of living space pushes up the housing price and causes many people to live on the outskirts and commute to work. Although public facilities like hospitals and schools have operated in an overloaded state, patients still can't get sufficient treatment. The lifestyle built on this system is hardly healthy.

Besides, natural resources are being consumed at an alarming rate, which brought enormous problems to the environment. Today, once-fertile lands are becoming sterile because of the side effects of chemical fertilizer which is indispensable to support billions of people on earth. Forests are disappearing at an unprecedented pace, and oil is exhausting unsustainably. What is worse, both of them contribute significantly to the greenhouse effect. With it comes a more unpredictable weather condition where disastrous extreme weather events happened more than ever.

Furthermore, resource scarcity has also brought other problems like war. It's quite common that people living in impoverished countries fall into war with surrounding states for food and other resources. In South Africa, combat between tribes for water or minerals is not unusual. Even relatively wealthy countries, like those in the Middle East, have been involved in the war for oil reserves.

In conclusion, the price paid to support the vast population on the earth is almost unbearable. Most of our problems are relevant to overpopulation directly or indirectly.