Teachers have more influence on their intellectual development and social development than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While the grade level of the students directly affects the role a teacher plays in education, they are widely considered as the leading role in students' academic success and social matters. Compared with teachers, parents' participation in education varies in different families.

Teachers are highly involved in the entire learning span of students. First, they are responsible for designing the syllabus of classes. Then, based on professional teaching skills, they exercise creativity, patience, and communication skills to impart knowledge in a most understandable way. They also need to evaluate students' performance and adapt teaching strategies to improve it. Though parents could help children with home assignments in the early years, it is hard for them to participate when students progress to a higher stage of education. In China, for example, more than 90% of people born before the 1980s have not received higher education.

As for social development, teachers in preschool and kindergarten are crucial to help children establish a positive cycle in their social relations. During the daily communication activities, they provide models of interactive skills, set patterns for class interaction, and provide help to children who are in the process of acquiring and strengthening social understanding and skills.

Some would argue that parents play a more critical part in the social development of children. But given that the economic and educational status of parents is so different, there can be a huge difference in family education. Some parents may lack the necessary knowledge or adequate skill sets. Others may be too busy to help their child with daily problems. The actual effect depends on each circumstance.

In conclusion, given the enormous difference in parents' involvement in education, teachers are generally more critical on both academic and social learning.