Teachers have more influence on their intellectual development and social development than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While the grade level of the students directly affects the roles teachers play in education, they are widely considered as the principal role in students' academic and social success. I agree that they have a more consistent and profound influence than parents.

Teachers are highly involved in the entire learning span of students. First, they are responsible for designing the syllabus of classes. Then, based on professional teaching skills, they exercise creativity, patience, and communication skills to impart knowledge in a most understandable way. They also need to evaluate students' performance and adapt teaching strategies to improve it. Though parents could help children with home assignments in the early years, it is hard for them to participate when students progress to the higher stage of education. In China, for example, more than 90% of people born before the 1980s have not received higher education. It is unrealistic for them to help children with homework after secondary school.

As for social development, teachers in preschool and kindergarten are crucial to help children establish a positive cycle in their interpersonal relationships. During the daily communication activities, they provide models of interactive skills, set patterns for class interaction, and provide help to children who are in the process of acquiring and strengthening social understanding and skills.

Some would argue that parents' guidance and role model effects are essential in the social development of children. However, the economic and educational status of parents can be so dramatically different that fulfilled social development is far from guaranteed. Some parents may lack adequate skillset like communication skills to teach. Others may be too busy to accompany their children on interpersonal communication issues.

In conclusion, though parents could bring significant influences on children's education, they are far less a constant mentor like teachers can be due to their vast differences in personal backgrounds.