Nowadays a large amount of advertising aiming at children should be banned because of its negative effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that advertising has put considerable detrimental effect on children. While I agree that children are vulnerable when exposed to advertising, putting constraints on the advertisers instead of banning them is a more practical measure.

Children's brains and personalities are fluid when they are young, which makes them more susceptible to advertising. But exaggeration and imagination are widely used in the advertising campaign. While adults can easily distinguish the false part of the information from the real features, children don't have the mental toolset to filter out things which are obviously wrong, and this makes them especially vulnerable to advertising. My cousin is three years old. When he saw an online advertisement of a cloak toy the other day, he cried for it because he believed anyone wearing the cloak could fly.

Another problem is that advertisers do not act in the best interests of the people they are advertising to. Instead, their first priority is promoting the commodities as many as possible. If there is no restriction on the advertising, the motivation for them to take advantage of children's vulnerability can be appealing.

However, advertising is an essential approach for people to keep track of the latest advances in products, including the beneficial ones like educational toys and equipment. For example, a series of marvelous colorful advertising in the 1970s helped Apple II start the boom in personal computer sales, which successfully introduced lots of children into the new computer world. It is a win-win for both advertiser and children.

In conclusion, while it's easy to for advertising to manipulate children by misleading information, it is also useful for children and parents to keep touch with the newest advance of commodities. So, it is better to put strains on the advertisement that targets the children rather than prohibit it.