Museums and art galleries should show local history and culture instead of work from different countries.

Discuss both views and give opinion.

Nowadays, there has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether museums and art galleries should exhibit historical and cultural values of their own country or different nations in the world. In my opinion, the local museums and art galleries should concentrate on work from not only their place but also others.

On the one hand, exhibiting artworks which reflect indigenous history and culture is beneficial on different levels. Firstly, it creates favorable conditions for a country to promote citizens’ national pride. This can be explained by the fact that when people pay a visit to museums and art galleries, they are often provided with the opportunity to gain deeper insights into their country’s hard times, crucial historical milestones and victories. This can consequently evoke the feeling of pride and patriotism inside each individual. Secondly, museums and art galleries can act as a spring board for preserving the cultural identity of countries. To be more specific, many traditions and cultures of a nation are being lost due to globalization and migration. Therefore, when we display a country’s artworks in art galleries and museums, visitors coming there can become aware of its traditional and cultural values. As a result, those values can be preserved and a nation’s culture can also be diversified.

On the other hand, the merits of showing other different nations’ history and culture are apparent. Firstly, it can promote global collaboration. The fundamental reason for this is that when people have a chance to expose to the history and culture of other nations, cross-cultural understanding between nations can be facilitated. Moreover, the display of different countries’ historical and cultural values can make museums and art galleries more interesting. As a result, these places will attract a huge influx of tourists, which can lay the foundation for a country’s sustainable economic growth. Thirdly, these museums and art galleries can also benefit students who want to study abroad or people who migrate to other countries greatly. Specifically, they may help them to avoid suffering from culture shocks when moving to a foreign country.

In conclusion, I am firm of the opinion that museums and art galleries had better display the history and culture of both their own country and other foreign countries because of their various aforementioned advantages.