Natural resources such as oil, forest and fresh water are being consumed at an alarming rate. What problems does it cause? How can we solve these problems?

In our contemporary society, people are consuming natural resources including oil, forests and fresh water at an ever-increasing rate and this is an overriding issue. There are a range of undeniable drawbacks associated with this trend, and in my opinion, there are still a number of feasible remedies that can be implemented to mitigate this issue.

There are a variety of detrimental impacts on human lives arising from the overuse of these natural resources. Firstly, it poses a threat to the vigorous economic growth of all countries in the world. This is due to the fact that fossil fuels like oil and coal are the foundation of a host of modern industries and if we continue to consume them more, there will be a shortage of these materials for industrial zones in the future. As a result, both prosperous and impoverished nations will not be able to manufacture as many commodities as their expectation and this will result in some repercussions for the whole country. Another danger related to the over-consumption of natural resources is the deterioration in our ambient environment. The reason is that these days, a host of trees are cut down to make way for the construction of high-rises and agricultural zones, and the burning of oil and cutting down of trees greatly contribute to carbon dioxide accumulation in our atmosphere, which is the main causes of global warming.Therefore, the more trees are cut down, the more polluted our environment is. In addition, the overconsumption of these natural resources also beget the loss of ecological balance. This is because the natural habitats of wildlife species is gradually destroyed owing to the cutting down of trees for industrial and agricultural purposes, and in turn, many wild animals are on the verge of extinction. Furthermore, the consumption of natural resources also begets some negative effects on human health. For instance, the proliferation of the use of fresh water in developed countries results in the fresh water deprivation in a variety of African countries, and in turn, a host of children living in these nations fall victim to perilous diseases and most of them are decimated.

However, there are still a range of methods that could be taken by the whole society to combat this problem. One feasible remedy is the usage of renewable and sustainable sources of energy in our daily lives. It is true that more and more countries pay attention to this solution and the authorities in various countries cooperate with top-class and high-profile conglomerates to investigate new energy including solar power or radioactive power in order to gain a deeper insight into these sources of energy and find out the most efficient way to consume them expeditiously, which is of paramount importance. For example, the Vietnamese government works arduously and put more resources into installing solar panels in Southern regions of Vietnam with the aim of generating electricity for local dwellers here. These renewable sources of energy are expected to become an efficient substitute for fossil fuels and a sustainable foundation for future industry to foster the economic growth and protect the environment simultaneously. Another noticeable solution to this issue is the installation of water filters in developing countries. One obvious example is that in Algeria, the authorities in this African nation are collaborating with leading enterprises from Western nation, which are light-years ahead of this country in terms of technique and infrastructure, to provide their citizens, especially children in rural areas with purifying machines with the aim of enabling them to get exposed to fresh water, which does wonders for their comprehensive development during their developmental stage. Last but not least, the authorities should make use of the far-reaching influences of social media to disseminate information about challenges of the overuse of these natural resources. If they are informed about challenges that we will face when these natural resources depleted, this comprehension will become a disincentive for the general public to consume oil, water and other natural resources and curb the ever-increasing rate of these resources.

In conclusion, there are distinctive repercussions related to the proliferation of the usage of natural resources, and although it is an uphill task for the whole society to combat this issue, there are still a variety of remedies that could be done to resolve this problem.