The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the usage of social media gradually takes precedence over communication in real life in our society. While I recognize the disadvantages of this development, I believe that it is more likely to have beneficial impacts.

There are a number of detrimental impacts associated with this trend. It is true that when communicating online marginalizes face-to-face interaction, a variety of aspects of a conventional conversation will be lost. For instance, when you send emails or instant messages to each other instead of talking to the other ones in real life, eye contact and body language which are of paramount importance in a conversation will not be incorporated into your interaction. Moreover, emotional expression is not clear in online communication in comparison with face-to-face one. As a result, people cannot expound on their feeling efficiently when they feel up to it and it may cause a host of misunderstands when they interact with their partners and beloved ones.

Notwithstanding the above drawbacks, I believe that they are outweighed by the benefits of online communication. First of all, if the usage of social platforms for communicating purposes became a substitute for face-to-face one, this could bring ease of communication. The reason is that the advent of social media including Facebook or Zalo has done away with geographical adversities, and in turn, enabled everybody to keep in touch with their friends and beloved ones all over the world with ease. Furthermore, commuting online also do wonders for communication between people from different countries. This is because there are a range of translating tools and apps that allow people who are not adept at learning foreign languages to socialize with their overseas friends.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the prospective benefits of this trend is more significant than the possible harms.