New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years there have been major shifts in the way young children enjoy their leisure time as a result of modern technological advancements. While I accept that these changes can sometimes have positive effects, I believe that they are more likely to have adverse impacts on children.

On the one hand, there are possible benefits that this trend could bring about. Firstly, children will have more choices on the activities they can do in their free time. For instance, digital devices such as tablets or smartphones offer a diversity of applications and games that can keep young kids engaged for a long period of time. This could leave their parents with more time to focus on their work and other priorities. Secondly, many of these games and apps are highly educational. As a result, they may help encourage the children’s learning and creativity.

On the other hand, I would argue that the drawbacks of these changes are more significant that the advantages for various reasons. Spending too much time on electronic devices can lead to serious health problems. Nowadays, children seem less responsive to physical recreations, which contributes greatly to the increasing rates of obesity. Also, prolonged exposure to the harmful blue light from computer or phone screens can possibly damage their vision. The unhealthy content that can be found on the Internet via new technological tools also poses another significant problem. Take the recent frightening Momo phenomenon as a solid example. It is reported that several children at very young age have fallen victim to this dangerous trend, and casualties have been incurred.

To conclude, I believe that the potential dangers of children’s modern way of spending their spare time using new technologies are much more significant the possible advantages.