New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that many children have spent much of their spare time playing with the lastest technological devices. Despite some obvious advantages of this trend, I would argue that it is still outweighed by the possible drawbacks.

On the one hand, the development of new cutting-edge technology would partially bring several benefits. The first one is that children now have a variety of choices to enjoy their free time, compared to the past. To put it more simply, instead of updating information through radio or traditional newspapers, they can easily access to the Internet, then flicking through the breaking-news pn globe with just few clicks on their smart-phone or tablet. Another consideration is that the Internet gives youngsters countless opportunities to acquire more usefu knowledge apart from formal lessons at school, or even opens more avenue of making new friends with the same interests in any part of the world by using chat room and social network such as Facebook or Instagram. Consequently, new technology both promote the new habit of self-study and encourage young people to develop a wide circle of virtual friends

On the other hand, I believe that if children abuse state-of-the-art technology, it will bring serious drawbacks. Firstly, the availabilities of new communication technologies can have the result in isolating people and discouraging real interaction. For example, many young people choose to make friend online rather than going out with their peers in the real world, and it maybe the root of weak relationship in the furute. In addition, children now spend hours glueing their eyes on a computer screen, which turns them into "cough potato". In consequence, they will be prone to some serious diseases such as obesity or short-sight.

In conclusion, although the changing of technology is possibly beneficial for children, I believe that this prosensity is dominated by several disadvantages as mentioned above