News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in

newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we

become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was

reported?

Every media broadcast selective news which is selected, sorted and edited from thousands of information daily. There are some value which be considerate in spreading news among people. First of all, they must identify every news ‘s persona and estimate newsworthy and impact of it on people. As greater impact on people, more benefit to media owner. A study done by researcher concluded that bad news has more impact on people and they like it more.

Also it should be note that politician has great influence on selecting news and there are some strict rule that every government oblige every news editor to follow it.

I disagree with that idea that we get used to bad news. In my opinion, in many cases, we can not categorize news to bad and good because that bad news is not bad for all. For example, increasing price of an article by government is good news for producer of that article and people who benefit of it directly and indirectly. On the other hand in the same time it can be a bad news for poor people who use that article a lot.

Plus, there is pure good news which can make every one happy. But this news has less attention as mentioned above and reporting them have not any benefit for media owner, neither people.

To wrap it up, reporting more good news wont make any changes. Bad news and good news would have their benefit and it is better to report them together.