Nowadays, with the advancement of modern technology people can complete their various daily needs through the Internet and mobile phones without direct interaction with people. This phenomenon has both positive as well as negative impacts on individual and the society and this essay is going to discuss these effects.

Obviously, technology ensures a productive life and has made tasks quicker and easier than ever before. We live in a hectic world and the ever growing competition in workplaces and academic institutes bound us to find out shortcuts and easier ways to complete our daily tasks. Technological advancements in our life save our valuable time and energy. For instance, people these days can pay the bills and purchase items through the Internet at their own residence without commuting to anywhere. They can do banking from home, can get the advice of a doctor through phone, can book a ticket online, get professional advice via the internet and the list goes on and on. Thus the need to go out and talking with people face-to-face has greatly reduced. This has a tremendously positive effect on personal life as it allows us to have more time to spend with our family and friends.

In addition, society also benefits from modern technology. To illustrate, people can do their tasks from home and that in turn reduce the number of private cars on the streets. Fewer traffic jams and less pollution will make the cities better places to live in.

In contrast, there are some negative impacts of this trend as well. The interaction between human being has been reduced and this lead to a materialist life. Consequently, family relationship is deteriorating in some cases as people are becoming more dependent on technologies. Sedentary lifestyles lead us to have various diseases and the society will need to take the burden of more obese people. In addition, it is a burden to the society that technology is many places is increasing the unemployment rates as computers and other technologies are reducing the need for the workforce. As a result crime rate will shoot up. All in all, easiness in daily life has some disadvantages to the society and the individual.

In conclusion, performing the routine tasks easily and quickly from home with the help of technology brings a lot of benefits and people can save their important time and energy. However, this trend has some negative impacts on both the society and the people that we should be aware of.