Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is not uncommon to see experiments conducted on animals as a result of scientific research into the effectiveness and safety of drugs, cosmetics and other chemical products. While enthusiasts claim that this is in the best interest of scientific development, I personally find this approach inexcusable, incredibly brutal and cold-blooded.

Those who are in favor of animal experimentation may argue that animals share many common features with human beings, making it seemingly justified to test some newly developed drugs or to perform certain medical procedures on them, such as organ transplants and vivisection, while by doing so, researchers can find out whether those operations or drugs will work on humans likewise. Also, it is believed that using humans as subjects is completely inhumane and immoral, because what such experiments will do to us is beyond imagination, leaving scientists no alternative but to carry out experiments on animals.

The argument of these animal experimentation proponents, although sounding justified and convincing, cannot withstand close scrutiny when some other factors are taken into consideration, one of which is that some of those tests bring nothing but futile and pointless results, with no practical use to the well-being of individuals and the development of science itself. There is plenty of empirical evidence indicating that some drugs or medical procedures, which work for animals, regrettably fail to achieve the purpose of curing humans, as they are incompatible with our immune system, organ rejection in a transplant surgery serving as a typical example.

Another important reason is that all existences are created equally, which means that animals deserve to be treated fairly instead of being misused in various experiments or simply falling prey to humans. From the perspective of animal right activists, it is rather ironic, outrageous and ridiculous to inflict unnecessary suffering and endless pain on animals for the so-called righteous cause of scientific research, especially those concerning cosmetics and food additives, when it is stipulated by law that human rights be advocated and respected on a worldwide scale.

In summary, although animal testing seems fairly reasonable, we have to make sure that animals are utilized in an appropriate way rather than being exploited ruthlessly. Simultaneously, it is suggested that their suffering should be reduced to a minimum extent or other alternative approaches be employed for scientific advances.