Young people today are better qualified than they were in the past. Some people argue that this is because competition for jobs is greater than it used to be. Others say that people only continue their education because the opportunities exist for them to do so.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, it is common that the younger generation tends to have higher educational levels compared with the previous generations. Some people believe that this trend is due to the fact that they need to equip themselves to compete hard with peers for a job, while others argue that more opportunities to continue learning lead to the situation. However, I think youngsters’ higher educational qualification is caused by multiple factors including job competition, accessibility to education and personal financial ability. (82)

It is undeniable that there are higher expectations that young people encountering when they are hunting jobs. Normally, advertisements for jobs may list a range of skills such as computer skills, literacy and numeracy ability, professional knowledge and so on. Applicants need to hone their skills through education and studying before they enter their career path. Conversely, seniors like my grandparents did not have to be qualified with a university degree to find a decent job in the past. (81)

Besides, various possibilities and opportunities for people to further education are more available. Compared with the elderly, young people have greater accessibility to university education. In the meanwhile, online learning enables people to learn at any time at anywhere with its flexibility. Thus, it is a reasonable consequence that the current generation is better qualified. (55)

In my opinion, the tendency of pursuing better education is influenced by not only both of the factors mentioned above but also an increasing income level. Without sufficient financial support, young people have no chance to be educated even when they are required more by employers and provided chances to further their education. (51)

In conclusion, harsher competition, the omnipresence of educational training and personal finance offer young people more possibility to be more qualified than ever. The future generations will follow the trend and become highly educated.