Nowadays, celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this is a bad example to adolescents.

Do you agree with this? What does this trend cause?

It is undisputed that people hardly can resist the attraction of those with fascinating and luxurious appearances, especially the youth. However, there are some actual artists who passionately devote themselves to this industry. Therefore, I do not fully agree with the statement and the consequences of the mentioned phenomenon will be discussed in this essay.

There is no doubt that nascent celebrities can gain a great amount of public recognition by showing off their appealing and dazzling images. This is not a new occurrence in ‘showbiz’ due to the fame and commercial benefits one can achieve depending on their popularity level. For instance, once people have a certain influence, they can achieve a lot of benefits. As a result, without any impressive accomplishment but money, everyone can become famous. On the other hand, in this entertaining environment, trends change and pass by every second so the non-talents ones will be directly eliminated and be replaced by several other worthy ones. By this, the more famous people are, the more attainment they have achieved.

Consequently, people who are burgeoning successfully without any impressive skills can badly exemplify the neophytes in this industry. They can intentionally assume that to climb up to the top of their career, achievements and actual talents are not necessary but wealth and luxurious images towards the public can help them remain for a long period. Besides, this trend indirectly lowers the true value of the appellation ‘celebrity’. Famous people used to be known for their flairs in singing, acting, hosting and other relevant skills but nowadays only being prosperous and having an attractive appearance can help people acquire lots of admiration. Therefore, this undoubtedly has a negative impact on the quality of being famous.

To conclude, the aforementioned is a controversial opinion which is still being argued currently and it does detrimentally affect the value of being acknowledged by the public. In my opinion, the public should be more selective in supporting or choosing their role models.