Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this.

Why is this happening?

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In today's modern world, the institution of family has altered. Thus, it is evident that in most of the families, their members are often far away from one another. This essay will discuss the reasons for this phenomenon and will also examine the benefits and the drawbacks of this change.

To begin, the first and main reason is the extremely busy lifestyle. The vast majority of the population works 8 or sometimes 12 hours daily and spend approximately 45mins in huge traffic lines in order to go to their jobs and back home. That is why they do not have time to communicate deeply with the other members of the family. Another factor is the fact that we live in a society dominated by social media. Most of the teenagers are more interested in their online life than interacting with their family in their free time.

It could be argued that this has benefits. For example, young people without the heavy pressure and criticize from their relatives, usually feel free to follow their dreams and achieve something great in their lives. Although, I believe that the loss of a strong connection amongst families could become very dangerous. To explain that, children could easily mislead and manipulated by strangers, especially nowadays due to the internet. Also, there is an increased number of mental illnesses in children, because most of them blame themselves for the limited contact with their parents.

In conclusion, the busy lifestyle has changed dramatically the way that families were a few decades ago. However, all of have to try to change this situation that has many negative outcomes.