Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's modern world, the environmental crisis in which we live has become a major concern for our society. It is undeniable that plastic goods are the main reason for this situation, thus a part of the population believes that the prohibition of plastic shopping bag is a necessary action to stop many environmental problems. Personally, I completely agree with this statement and this essay will discuss several reasons and provide examples supporting my idea.

To begin, the first reason for the need for banning plastic bags is the fact that they are dangerous for wildlife. To explain that, their light weight can make them travel all around the world and their appearance and shape can confuse several creatures which may consider them as their food. For example, almost 1.000 sea turtles find death eating white bags because they think that they are jellyfishes. Thus, the importance of minimizing the use of plastic bags is vital.

To continue, another reason is the fact that there are better alternatives available nowadays. Reusable bags have become a trend in the last 5 years. The image of people entering superstores holding them is very common since most of these bags can last for 3 years, in contrast with normal plastic bags. So, it is apparent that plastic bags will be obsolete in a few years.

To conclude, my opinion is that there is no place for plastic bags in the 21st century. Up until now, they had a devastating impact on the planet, however, has started to be reversed by a part of the population.