Nowadays genetically modified food is widespread all over the world. While proponents of GM crops ensure that these foods are safe for human consumption and help to increase food supplies, others argue that their effects on health have not been studied long enough.

Describe pros and cons of genetically modified foods.

The issue related to constantly growing consumption of food products has been relevant over the last decades due to the rising of population density. Some representatives of society opine that genetically modified crops, which are popular today, are beneficial for the humanity, while others state that GM products are not safe for people. This essay will examine the main benefits and drawbacks of this tendency.

On the one hand, the disadvantage of this tendency is that the safety of genetically modified food consumption has not been proven completely. Despite the comprehensive database and researches concerning the influence of GM crops on health, modern scientists still cannot be fully confident that these products do foster to the diseases. Furthermore, not only scientific studies, but also governmental investments are required for the development of this rapidly growing industry. To put it differently, significant part of national finance is spent on the food industry, particularly on the production of genetically modified fruits and vegetables. For example, according to the survey conducted by the Russian Financial University, the investments into the agriculture, which implement the process of crops production, has grown considerably over the last decades. Thus, the probable demerits of GM products are considered to be the lack of researches and significant monetary expenditures.

On the other hand, one of the main advantages related to this trend is the availability of the GM food products. Admittedly, these kinds of crops are cheaper in comparison with harvests grown in organic farms. Moreover, due to the increasing of genetically modified food production, consumption of fruits and vegetables is constantly growing. For instance, according to the study held in Moscow Sociology University, the rate of berries and veggies people buy nowadays in considerably more in comparison with the times, when GM products were not available. Hence, the principle merits of this tendency are lower food prices and increased vegetables and greens consumption.

To conclude, the probable drawbacks of the GM crops are huge financial investments and lack of safety evidence. However, the benefits are the decrease of veggies costs and the rise of green food consumption.