Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

People these days mostly go against the doctor’s prescription and rely for their treatment on pharmaceuticals which are made for other purposes. Although it can save their money and time, it can also adversely affect their health. In my opinion, we should not consider anything without consulting with the physician beforehand.

To begin with, favoring other ways of treatment is both cost and time effective. Nowadays, doctor charge hefty amount of upfront fee for just a 5 minutes checkup, which not everyone can afford it. Also, the prescribed medicine is always expensive and unlikely for middle class individual to buy. This makes the alternative methods of curing and medicines more appealing to them. To exemplify, in Pakistan, most people are dependent on herbal medication for curing their ailments. In addition, it also saves time and energy because the patient does not need to wait for days for their appointment to a professional physician. It is due to these reasons, reliance on traditional way of visiting hospital for eradication of health problem is not prioritized by patients.

Despite few of its benefits, its adversity to health is much more than anything else in the world. When the doctor prescribe something, they take into consideration different factors. Most of the people could already be diagnosed with certain diseases, and if they take medication which is injurious for it, then in worst case scenario, it can also cause death. For example, my uncle lost his life, due to taking wrong medicine for the treatment of malaria. Moreover, visiting someone who is not a certified doctor, is also risky, as they lack the deep knowledge of different illnesses and body parts. They sometimes suggest locally made medicines, which can further exacerbate our health condition. Therefore, it would be wrong to treat ourselves with uncertified doctors or unfamiliar medications.

In conclusion, people are significantly in favor of eliminating health issues through unusual ways instead of the traditional ways. While it is efficient and cost-effective way of treatment, deteriorating the health is also promising through prioritizing it. As a contradiction of sorts, I would say that health should not be comprised at any cost and this is what makes alternative treatment methods more disadvantages than advantageous.