Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

There is a major topic of concern in modern society that some people are illiterate despite widespread education. Some explanations for this problem will be put forward before a few possible solutions are proposed.

There are a few reasons as to why some people cannot read or write. First, since many people must earn a living to share the financial burden with their parents, they have no chances to go to school. In fact, some families could not afford the tuition fees leading to the phenomenon that children have to work instead of studying. Second, by lacking of infrastructure, some regions, like mountainous areas in VietNam or middle Africa, cannot construct education system for local students. This means that poor budget investing in education by these areas leads to the illiteracy of people there.

There are some measures can help people to tackle this problem. First of all, in order to encourage people to join in classes, the government should warrant to open some charity ones. This means that more children even adults will participate in these classes with no charge. In addition to this, the government should cooperate with the minister of some remote areas to improve their education system such as building new schools. If inhabitants of these places are easy to access schools, they will go to these schools to broaden their knowledge.

In conclusion, the situation that people lack of knowledge about reading or writing can be ascribed by a few reasons. To address this, there are some effective measures such as letting the government invest in education more. It is predicted that if these measures are adopted, the illiteracy rate will drop significantly.