Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

What might be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days increasingly more people are choosing to work for themselves instead of being employed. While having flexible working hours could be the most appealing reason, there are still potential risks involved in running your own business.

There are several reasons why self-employment is becoming a more popular option. The first reason could be financial freedom. The more they work, the more profit they make, so to a certain degree, owning a business allows people to be more financially independent. Flexible working hours, however, may be the most common reason behind this trend. In other words, self-employed people can freely choose when to work, so that they have more time for other interests in life. Some people may choose to pursue a hobby, and others may prefer to spend this spared time with their families. So most people become self-employed in order to avoid financial dependence on somebody else, but most importantly, they want to be able to dictate how many hours they put in their work.

Having said that, the idea of running your own business comes with its own risks. Although people who are self-employed could enjoy flexible working hours, sometimes the line between work and leisure becomes blurred. Many business owners tend to become obsessed so they usually fall victim to the issue of work-life balance. So this defeats the original purpose of having more time to themselves. The biggest problem, however, could lie with the financial risks. Running a business is not always plain sailing, and sometimes business owners have to make critical decisions that could either bring profits or cost the business altogether. This level of responsibility could place a severe strain on individuals health. But ironically, they cannot afford to fall ill simply because there is no financial compensation during a ‘sick leave’.

To conclude, financial freedom coupled with flexible working hours may have made self-employment an attractive option, but before going into this type of employment, future business owners should consider some of the possible risks, with the financial one being the most critical.