Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the modern world, there is a popular trend of people preferring working themselves to participating in organized groups. Understandably, there are some reasons for this hot choice together with several potential risks.

Accounting for people deciding to be self-employed, in my own view, there are two main reasons. Firstly, and obviously, the most pivotal one is time independence. It seems indisputable that many people want to have free time and be self-organized, but it is difficult to attain while being in a big company where everything is arranged in advance and virtually workers have to be on duty up to 40 hours a week. This left people with fixed schedules with no versatility. As being self-employed, people can manage their own agenda and be flexible with their daily timetable which is almost unattainable for those who work in big companies. The second reason is probably wage satisfaction. Some people feel unfulfilled with their salary deal as they can not offer their willing numbers. Therefore, they are averse to contributing to companies and withdraw to work on their own.

However, self-employment also contains some drawbacks which possibly be hurdles. Receiving little support from experienced people is the most severe problem. Managing everything is arduous especially with no aids from their counterparts. In addition, being self-employed is risky as it is easy to be ill-orientated. Lacking discussions with other people will be extremely dangerous which leads to critical mistakes that can make everything down the drain.

In conclusion, being self-employed may bring people a bunch of comfort and convenience, however, it is quite risky when experience and elaboration are insufficient.