Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nobody can deny that a large proportion of individuals have shown their preference of starting their own business and being self-employed. As far as I am concerned, there are specific reasons contributed to the cause of this issue. And we can definitely see various demerits when consider about it, as we will see.

To begin with, employees switching to employers can be caused by several reasons. And the primary feature may probably be having more ability to do whatever they want. To be more specific, in workplace, staffs are expected to work under the instructions of their supervisors or superiors. Whereas being their own boss leads flexibility and freedom, hopefully reducing the risk of burning the night oil as well for example. Another reason why people choose to be self-employed might be the consideration of future career prospect. Since many employees are still in relative low position even until their retirement, for instance, working on their own indicates that at least they have the ability to achieve higher social position as well as reputation.

However, on the other hand, we should not neglect the negative influence prompted by this decision. Firstly, self-employed people will easily get satisfied if they set improper objectives, which makes an absence of motivation later on. Without missions to accomplish, people have terrible time management for work. Secondly, lacking of knowledge and experiences could be a threat as well, for example, those ex-employees may fail to make suitable tactics. Higher possibility of facing redundancy can be manifestly seen under such circumstances. Thirdly, those isolated people cannot admire the resources which companies can offer them, such as insurances, other welfare or even perks, sometimes those enterprises may even tackle individuals’ housing problem.

To conclude, the reason why people show their interest of being self-employed is fairly complicated, while it will exert undesirable impacts undoubtedly.