Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Self-employment has become increasingly popular in the last few years because of individuals wanting to become self-reliant. This essay will discuss the possible causes of the recent situation and some disadvantages of becoming self-employed.

Lower salary from the private organization coupled with more workload in the company might be the cause of the above problem. These days market competition exists among companies, resulting in a pile-up of tasks in the office; however, salary has not risen to match up with the increased work burden. Consequently, workers are not satisfied with the salary that leads to more chances of quitting the jobs.

On the other hand, being self-dependent comes at a great cost. In other words, being be-holden to oneself has some drawbacks. Firstly, owning own business requires a lot of careful plans and decisions. Failure to fulfill these requirements not only will make a business fail in achieving its goals but also degrades the motivation of the owner. This will have detrimental consequences in an individual's life. Secondly, one needs to take greater risk to run own private firm. Calculated risk can be viable, nevertheless, unwanted risk can pose a great threat. Thus, higher risk and failure to act properly can have a disastrous effect on the verge of being self-employed.

In conclusion, a growing number of task pressure and unsatisfactory income can cause an employee to get rid of currently working organization and choose to work for oneself. However, it has a number of cons: unmanaged risk and dearth of careful plans that can often lead to a dead end.